Tags

, ,

I quit.  I’m done.  Today marks my 6th day without caffeine.  Woot!  No more French Vanilla k-cups in the morning.  No more Diet Dr. Pepper in the afternoon.  No more espresso at 10pm in Barcelona, Spain (granted, an opportunity like that probably won’t pop up again anytime soon).  It’s decaf coffee or water with lemon for me.

Why?

Well, when the J-man deployed a year and a half ago, I became the sole care taker of his Keurig coffee machine.  Those leftover k-cups had to be used, and his leftover soda couldn’t go to waste.  Right?

Truth be told, I had trouble sleeping that year.  I never wanted to go to bed.  Ever.  Which made getting up in the morning extremely difficult.  The caffeine gave me a much-needed energy boost to get through my work day.  And that is how, after 3 decades of successfully avoiding caffeine, my addiction began.

But the J-man is back in town, and I’m getting 7 or 8 hours of quality sleep each night.  I can no longer justify a need for caffeine.  I don’t even like coffee.  It was the high calorie flavored liquid coffee creamers that kept me coming back.  As for diet soda, from what I’ve been reading lately, it can do a number on your weight loss goals.  Whether those studies are true or not, I don’t know for sure.  What I do know, is that one of my goals for this summer is to change my habits and decrease my reliance on food to make me happy.  Adios, caffeine!

No.  I did not quit caffeine because I’m pregnant (not yet dear family).  However, a hoped for future pregnancy did factor into my decision.  I figure that if I quit now, I’ll have one less major life adjustment to deal with then.  Why add caffeine withdrawal headaches to a laundry list of possible pregnancy side effects?  Now that I’ve gotten those out-of-the-way, I’m feeling good.  Bring on the morning sickness!

Oh man…

