Tags

,

Up to a point a man’s life is shaped by environment, heredity, and movements and changes in the world about him; then there comes a time when it lies within his grasp to shape the clay of his life into the sort of thing he wishes it to be.  Only the weak blame parents, their race, their times, lack of good fortune, or the quirks of fate.  Everyone has it within his power to say, this I am today, that I shall be tomorrow.  The wish, however, must be implemented by deeds. 

Louis L’Amour, The Walking Drum

I was a young teen when I first read The Walking Drum.  I remember jotting that quote down in my journal.  No, Louis L’Amour books were not (and probably still are not) the preferred choice of literature for the average teen girl, but I wasn’t the average teen girl.  Deep down, despite the fact that I was rather shy, chubby and petrified of my own shadow, I had a thirst for adventure.  I wanted to see the world, climb rugged mountain peaks and meet new people.  This quote gave me hope, during those timid years, that change was possible.

Last week, while reading the book again, I was reminded of the many positive changes that have occurred since then.  I had to smile because there is no way that I could ever claim they were all my doing.  The good Lord has put so many amazing life changing opportunities in my path.  And He gave me the power and the strength to take those opportunities and say, “This I am today, that I shall be tomorrow.”  And He hasn’t stopped yet.  Thank you Lord!

